About the BVI

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The British Virgin Islands (BVI), officially the Virgin Islands is part of the Virgin Islands archipelago which is located in the Caribbean, 60 miles east of Puerto Rico.  The Virgin Islands was named by Christopher Columbus after Saint Ursula and her 11,000 martyred virgins.  BVI is comprised of some 50 plus beautiful islands and cays.

For years the BVI has been referred to as Nature's Little Secret simply because of its virgin beauty.  Because of its fair weather and constant wind, many refer to it as sailor's paradise, hence being recognised as the 'Sailing Capital of the World'.

The island has five main islands, (from biggest to smallest), Tortola, Anegada, Virgin Gorda and Jost Van Dyke.  Each of these island and cays has something unique to offer. The capital of the BVI, Road Town, is located on the main and largest island - Tortola, which is 24 sq miles.

The BVI's population is just over 28,000 people.

For more on BVI Facts, visit the Official BVI Tourism page.